and all i’m ever gonna be is mean

15 Jan

I really dislike Taylor Swift. I don’t know if that’s become a popular thing to do, but if it has, don’t mistake me for someone who just jumped on the bandwagon recently but my iPod is actually packed with songs from her first cd. I have never liked Taylor Swift. My opinion of her has always been this: I appreciate that she writes her own lyrics because I know how many musicians still do not do that. However, I do not like her lyrics. Or the general sound of her music. I am just not a fan. Her songs sound like a preteen wrote in her diary and then thought it was okay to put that to music, completely unpolished and ridiculously immature. I am not a fan of this. So, originally my only gripe with her was really just that I didn’t like her music, but I suppose I respected her for at least doing her own work.

Eventually, I learned more about Taylor Swift. Far too much, really. All the time, all I learn about is Taylor Swift. I know way too much about her love life. And that’s really all I seem to know about her, but I feel like I’ve learned so much more about the kind of person she is just from knowing about all of her (failed) relationships. Her relationships never seem to last more than three months (recently, at least. I feel like she was with Joe Jonas for a while before he dumped her via text message. Classy move on his part), but she claims to be in love with the guys (I say guys because she has dated between men and babies it feels like) immediately. So, clearly, she falls too hard too fast. But what bothers me about this is that she’s immediately onto a new guy after breaking up with the last. I wouldn’t have an issue if she fell really hard for a guy fast, because that happens to everyone, not just TSwift. But, it’s the fact that she immediately moves on and never takes the time to just be single and deal with herself that annoys me. And I get it, she’s young. She’s my age. People my age do that. But, again, here’s my issue with that, I don’t like people who do that. So my problem with Taylor Swift is not that she’s some annoying girl who jumps in and out of relationships and needs attention (I do believe she needs attention). My problem is that in real life, if I knew her, I would not want to be friends with her. Because I have met people like her (notice I say people, not just women. Don’t get sexist and generalize here, no one reading this blog) and I cannot deal with them. I know exactly how she’d be in real life: I’d give her a piece of advice about staying single and going with the flow and just seeing what happens, and she would push for a new relationship immediately, ignoring anything I had said to her. It’s really just insulting to me. I just dislike that.

And again, I don’t want to use the excuse that she’s young. Because you know what? I’m her age and so are the majority of my friends. And I can give you a list of people who are nothing like that, who don’t force things that don’t belong just because they don’t want to be single or something. So I get that she’s young and she’s “falling in and out of love” or whatever, but how about she take a break for a little bit and learn to be single?

And yeah, I get that it’s worse for her with her relationships being completely public, out there for everyone in the world to read about. But in all honesty, that makes it even more annoying because it is thrown in my face 24/7 that she is jumping in and out of relationships. And what’s worse is that I feel like she’s abusing the word “love” because she just takes the feelings she has and lumps them under that category immediately. Again, it’s insulting to the entire notion of love.

But, back to her music. She’s young so she’s going to write young music. Well, I’ll just look at Adele, who is just absolutely magnificent, and yes, also young. Her cds are called “19” and “21” because that’s how old when she wrote them. They are noticeably far more mature than TSwift’s music ever will be. But whatever, that’s not what Taylor’s going for, she’s a part of another genre entirely. I just dislike that she continues winning awards as if she is the best in everything she does, which I strongly disagree with. Also, all Taylor’s music is about breakups. We get it. Guys break up with you. Sometimes you break up with them. Like TSwift, Adele’s second cd was about her breakup. But, again,it just sounded so much more mature. And her voice is just so much more soothing to me.

I guess all I can get at it here is I am not a fan of Taylor Swift or her music. I never was and I never ever ever will be (see what I did there?). My advice to Taylor is to take the time to work on herself and be single. Because you don’t need a man to make you better, Taylor. You do you, girl.

Also, I realize I sound like a complete bully in this, but really, I never claimed to be a nice or non-judgmental person, so you’re looking at the wrong blog if you’re actually on this page and hoping to read something kind and uplifting. It would honestly probably be easier for me to name the people I don’t dislike than it would be for me to name the people I do dislike. That’s just the kind of person I am. And I think Taylor Swift needs to take a nap.

Leave a Reply

